Anton Swanepoel Books Anton Swanepoel
Home Biography Blog Login Videos

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.














Laos, officially the Lao People's Democratic Republic (LPDR), is a landlocked country in Southeast Asia, bordered by Myanmar (Burma) and China to the northwest, Vietnam to the east, Cambodia to the south, and Thailand to the west. Since 1975, it has been ruled by a Marxist and communist government. Its population was estimated to be around 6.8 million in July 2014.

Laos traces its history to the kingdom of Lan Xang, which existed from the 14th to the 18th century when it split into three kingdoms. In 1893, it became a French protectorate, with the three kingdoms—Luang Phrabang, Vientiane and Champasak — uniting to form what is now known as Laos. It briefly gained independence in 1945 after Japanese occupation, but returned to French rule until it was granted autonomy in 1949. Laos became independent in 1953, with a constitutional monarchy under Sisavang Vong. Shortly after independence, a long civil war ended the monarchy, when the Communist Pathet Lao movement came to power in 1975.

Main Tourist Towns and Attractions in Laos

Read More


Walk through the famous Buddha park with its Hindu and Buddha images, relax in local parks, view a skeleton that dates to more than 6000 years old in the museum, marvel at the largest gold colored statue in Vientiane, shop in local markets, see the only building to be spared when King Rama III order Vientiane destroyed in 1828, tour the victory monument that resembles the Arc de Triomphe de l’Étoile in France, discover the great stupa and the residence of the last king of Laos, and more.


Additional Books For Laos

Read More

Read More


Time in Vientiane:

Find more about Weather in Vientiane, LA